Michael E. Glasscock Scientific Merit Award

The American Neurotology Society is pleased to announce the creation of the Michael E. Glasscock Scientific Merit Award for the highest scoring abstract submitted for the annual Spring meeting. This Award is being granted in recognition of Dr. Glasscock's lifetime commitment to education, research and the advancement of our field.

Beginning in 2024, the primary author who receives the highest composite score for their abstract submitted for consideration at the annual ANS Spring meeting, will be named as the first recipient of the prestigious Michael E Glasscock Scientific Merit Award. 


  • Abstracts are blinded to author/institution, reviewed and scored by 15 members of the ANS Scientific Program Committee.
  • The composite score will be collated by the ANS Administrative office.
  • The abstract must be selected for ORAL presentation to be considered. (submit as Oral or Either)
  • ANS has established a cash award of $1,500 for the winning manuscript/abstract. The author will be notified in December and expected to attend the Annual ANS Spring Meeting and present the paper in person. 
  • Abstract Submission dates for the ANS 60th Annual Spring Meeting in New Orleans, LA on May 16-18, 2025 is October 15, 2024.

Dr. Glasscock, a pioneer in the field of neurotology, specialized in the surgery and treatment of the inner ear.

He received his MD from the University of Tennessee Center for Health Science in Memphis and trained with acclaimed surgeons John Shea III, MD, from Memphis, and William House, MD.

In 1970, he founded the Otology Group, a Nashville ear practice with a national patient base and an international reputation for quality. The practice merged with the Vanderbilt Department of Otolaryngology in 2004, forming The Otology Group of Vanderbilt.

During his career, Dr. Glasscock published more than 250 scientific articles in peer-reviewed journals and was the editor of “Surgery of the Ear,” now in its seventh edition. He founded the American Journal of Otology, now known as our flagship Journal, Otology & Neurotology,(O&N).

While there are countless accomplishments to share, the most impactful one for the ANS & AOS, was his unprecedented, extraordinary gift of the Otology & Neurotology Journal, (formerly known as the American Journal of Otology, AJO), to the American Neurotology Society and the American Otological Society in 1990.  This award is generously supported by the revenue generated from this journal. 


Previous Recipients

John P. Marinelli, MD
San Antonio Military Medical Center
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN
2024      Chicago, IL