Trainee Award

First awarded: 1990
Funding provided by: Dr. Joseph Touma 1990-99 & the American Neurotology Society

Submission Information

  • ANS offers up to two Trainee awards for the best clinical and basic science paper in Neurotology submitted by a Resident or Fellow in training in the field of Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery. Residents from any approved residency program or Fellows in Neurotology in the United States or Canada are eligible to compete. (Two Trainee awards were established in 2020, one for Clinical and one for Basic Science). 
  • Authorship: The Resident or Fellow must be the primary author. He or she must provide the main inspiration for the paper and do the literature search, data collection, original and final drafts of the article, the discussion, and the conclusions. A staff sponsor may be listed as co-author or second author. The sponsor or staff consultant may only provide editorial help, cases for study, and/or a research laboratory setting for carrying out bench research.
  • The Paper: The paper must be an original contribution, not previously published. A clinical study or basic research study is acceptable. Single-case reports or literature reviews are not acceptable. The paper must be presented in the publication format recommended by Otology & Neurotology, the official journal of the ANS a minimum of 4 weeks before meeting. The author must submit an electronic copy of the manuscript, including illustrations. 
  • The Prize: ANS has established a cash award of $1,000 for the winning papers. The author will be expected to attend the Annual ANS Spring Meeting and present the paper in person. 
  • The abstract must be selected for ORAL presentation to be considered. Please send an email to the ANS administrative office with your intent to apply for award at the time of abstract submission.
  • Send a pdf of your manuscript to: Kristen Bordignon, ANS Administrator, [email protected] by November 15, 2024 to accompany the abstract and cover letter. (preliminary draft of manuscript acceptable) 
  • The Abstract Submission deadline for the ANS 60th Annual Spring Meeting in New Orleans, LA on May 16-18, 2025 is 11:59 PM (P.T.) October 15, 2024. 

Previous Recipients

Thomas R. Pasic, MD
University of Washington
Seattle, WA
1990 Palm Beach, FL
Charles A. Syms III, MD
USAF Medical Center
Lackland AFB, TX

Waikoloa, HI

Eric Tallan, MD
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN
1992 Palm Desert, CA
Mark E. Reiber, MD
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Nashville, TN
1993 Los Angeles, CA
Gary B. Coleman, MD
University of Michigan
Detroit, MI
1994 Palm Beach, FL
Donald D. Robertson, MD
University of Manitoba
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
1995 Palm Desert, CA
Greg A. Krempl, MD
University of Texas
San Antonio, TX
1997 Scottsdale, AZ
Bac H. Nguyen, MD
University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN
1998 Palm Beach, FL
Jennifer L. Maw, MD
Hearing Institute for Children & Adults
San Jose, CA
1999 Palm Desert, CA
Wayne E. Berryhill, MD
University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN
2000 Orlando, FL
Dmitriy Niyazov
Medical Student
Los Angeles, CA
2001 Palm Desert, CA
Stacey L. Halum, MD
Medical College of Wisconsin
Milwaukee, WI
2003 Nashville, TN
Norman N. Ge, MD
Davis Medical Center
Sacramento, CA
2004 Phoenix, AZ
Ritvik P. Mehta, MD
Massachusetts Eye & Ear
Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA
2005 Boca Raton, FL
Wade Chien, MD
Massachusetts Eye & Ear
Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA
2006 Chicago, IL
Hideko Heidi Nakajima, MD, PhD
Massachusetts Eye & Ear
Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA
2009 Phoenix, AZ
Yuri Agrawal, MD
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD
2012 San Diego, CA
Samuel A. Spear, MD
The Ohio State University
Columbus, OH
2013 Orlando, FL
Christine T. Dinh, MD
University of Miami, Miller School of Medicine
Miami, FL
2014 Las Vegas, NV
James Naples, MD
University of Connecticut
Farmington, CT
2015 Boston, MA
Jacob B. Hunter, MD  
Vanderbilt University 
Nashville, TN
Chicago, IL
Yarah M. Haidar, MD 
University of California Irvine
Orange, CA
San Diego, CA
Ashley M. Nassiri, MD, MBA
Vanderbilt University
Nashville, TN
National Harbor, MD
Matthew Shew, MD
University of Kansas
Kansas City, KS
Austin, TX
Armine Kocharyan, MD (Basic Science)
Case Western Reserve University
Cleveland, OH
Virtual Platform
John P. Marinelli, MD (Clinical)
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN 
 Virtual Platform
Douglas M. Bennion, MD, PhD
University of Iowa
Iowa City, IA
Virtual Platform
Susan E. Ellsperman, MD
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
 Virtual Platform
Amit Walia, MD
Washington University STL
St. Louis, MO 
Dallas, TX
Hunter L. Elms, MD
Duke University
Durham, NC
 Dallas, TX
Lisa Zhang, MD
The Ohio State University
Columbus, OH
Boston, MA

Ankita Patro, MD
Vanderbilt University
Nashville, TN

Boston, MA

Ryan T. Judd, MD
The Ohio State University
Columbus, OH

Chicago, IL