ANS Research Grant Award
Applications must be received by March 1st - MIDNIGHT PT 

Congratulations Dr. Ksenia A. Aaron, the 2018 ANS Research Grant Award recipient.

Image result for ksenia A Aaron

The ANS Research Committee and the ANS Executive Council selected Dr. Aaron's grant titled, “Modelling and Restoring Hearing and Vestibular Deficit of Non-Syndromic Deafness”.  Dr. Aaron is from Stanford University School of Medicine. Dr. Aaron will begin a three year neurotology fellowship in July 2018, as a T32 track (clinician-scientist) fellow, at Stanford University. Dr. Aaron has significant previous research experience in the field of neuroscience spanning from neurodegenerative diseases in animals as an undergraduate, to age related hearing loss with Dr. Rick Friedman during her residency at USC. 

ANS Research Grant Award

Established: 2014
First awarded: 2015
Funding provided by: the ANS Endowment Fund

Award Information

The purpose of the American Neurotology Society (ANS) Research Grant is to encourage and support academic research in sciences related to the investigation of otology and neurotologyAppropriate areas of research include diagnosis, management, and pathogenesis of diseases of the ear and/or skull base. Grants that focus on addressing clinical gaps are especially encouraged.  Grants may involve cell/molecular studies, animal research, or human subjects research.
The maximum award request is $25,000 per year (US dollars) and is annually renewable on a competitive basis. Indirect costs (overhead) are not allowed. Grants are available to physician investigators in the United States and Canada only. We particularly encourage those individuals without a history of K08, R03, R21, or R01 funding to apply. 

ANS Grant Application Deadline is March 1st - MIDNIGHT PT 


Click here for Fast Facts about the ANS Research Grant!

Please click here for ANS Grant submission instructions

The American Neurotology Society Research Fund only accepts grant applications and reference letters electronically. Please prepare your application electronically and have everything including reference letters contained within one PDF. Please submit your final PDF application by email.  Reference letters may be electronically prepared and signed as PDF documents, or may be scanned as PDF documents, in order that they may be included as part of the grant application. 

The grants and reference letters are to be submitted via email to Dr. Ronna Hertzano, Chair of the American Neurotology Society Research Committee, [email protected] and Kristen Bordignon, Administrator for the American Neurotology Society, [email protected]



Grant Submission Deadline: March 1

Previous Recipients

Christine T. Dinh, MD
University of Miami

Miller School of Medicine
Miami, FL

Cochlear irradiation and dosimetry: apoptosis, necrosis and hearing loss

 $25,000 2015 

Harrison W. Lin, MD

University of California-Irvine
Orange, CA

Chronic implantation of the facial nerve for selective facial muscle contraction  $25,000  2016

Michael S. Harris, MD

Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, WI 

 Verbal Memory as Outcome Predictor in Adults Receiving Cochlear Implants   $25,000   2017

Ksenia A. Aaron, MD

Stanford University
Stanford, CA

Modelling and Restoring Hearing and Vestibular Deficit of Non-Syndromic Deafness   $25,000   2018



ANS RESEARCH COMMITTEE - Ronna Hertzano, MD, PhD - Chair

Benjamin T. Crane, MD, PhD
Courtney C.J. Voelker, MD
Steven W. Cheung, MD
Howard W. Francis, MD, MBA
Elizabeth Toh, MD
Konstantina M. Stankovich, MD, PhD
Aaron D. Tward, MD