Nicholas Torok Vestibular Award

First awarded: 1990
Funding provided by: Dr. & Mrs. Nicholas Torok & the American Neurotology Society

Submission Information

  • The Nicholas Torok Vestibular Award, established under the aegis of the ANS instituting a yearly lecture, is presented at the Annual Scientific Spring Meeting of the Society.
  • The subject should be an innovative observation, experience or technique in the field of vestibular basic science or clinical science.
  • The final manuscript must be presented electronically in the publication format recommended by Otology & Neurotology, the official journal of the ANS, 4 weeks before meeting.
  • The candidate shall be selected preferably from the membership of the Society of upon specific merit of any M.D. or Ph.D.
  • The President and Executive Council of the ANS shall judge the yearly application. A yearly award of $1,500 will be given for the selected manuscript.
  • The author will be expected to attend the Annual ANS Spring Meeting and present the paper in person. 
  • The abstract must be selected for ORAL presentation to be considered. Please send an email to the ANS administrative office with your intent to apply for award at the time of abstract submission. 
  • Send a pdf of your manuscript to: Kristen Bordignon, ANS Administrator, [email protected] by November 15, 2024 to accompany the abstract and cover letter. (preliminary draft of manuscript acceptable)
  • The Abstract Submission deadline for the ANS 60th Annual Spring Meeting in New Orleans, LA on May 16-18, 2025 is 11:59 PM (P.T.) October 15, 2024. 

Previous Lecturers

Stephen P. Cass, MD
Michigan Ear Institute
Farmington Hills, MI
1990 Palm Beach, FL
P. Ashley Wackym, MD
University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics
Iowa City, IA
1992 Palm Desert, CA
Robert P. Muckle, MD
University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN
1993 Los Angeles, CA
Thomas A. Salzer, MD
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, TX
1994 Palm Beach, FL
Akira Ishiyama, MD
UCLA School of Medicine
Los Angeles, CA
1995 Palm Desert, CA
Michael P. McCue, MD
University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN
1996 Orlando, FL
Anil K. Lalwani, MD
University of California
San Francisco, CA
1998 Palm Beach, FL
Lloyd B. Minor, MD
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, MD
1999 Palm Desert, CA
Vincent B. Ostrowski, MD
Northwestern University Medical School
Chicago, IL
2000 Orlando, FL
D. Bradley Welling, MD, PhD
The Ohio State University
Columbus, OH
2001 Palm Desert, CA
John P. Carey, MD
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, MD
2003 Nashville, TN
John C. Li, MD 2005 Boca Raton, FL
Judith A. White, MD, PhD
The Cleveland Clinic
Cleveland, OH
2006 Chicago, IL
Abraham Jacob, MD
Ohio State University
Columbus, OH
2007 San Diego, CA
Rahul Mehta, MD
Louisiana State University
Baton Rouge, LA
2014 Las Vegas, NV
Benjamin T. Crane, MD, PhD
University of Rochester Medical Center
Rochester, NY
2015 Boston, MA
Jeffrey D. Sharon, MD
John Hopkins University
Baltimore, MD
2016 Chicago, IL
Anne K. Maxwell, MD
University of Colorado
Denver, CO
2017 San Diego, CA
Renee M. Banakis Hartl, MD, AuD
University of Colorado
Denver, CO
2018 National Harbor, MD

Tiffany Peng Hwa, MD
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA 

2020 Virtual platform
Presented in Fall 2020

Steven D. Curry, MD, MPH
University of Nebraska
Omaha, NE

2021 Virtual platform

Miriam R. Smetak, MD, MS
Vanderbilt University
Nashville, TN

2022 Dallas, TX

Eric J. Formeister, MD, MS
Duke University
Durham, NC

2023 Boston, MA

D. O’Neil Danis, III, MD
Tufts Medical Center
Boston, MA 

2024 Chicago, IL