

American Neurotology Society

Volume 2, Issue I March 2004

From the Desk of the Secretary-Treasurer

he American Neurotology Society's 39th Annual Meeting will be held at the J. W. Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa, Phoenix, Arizona, on Saturday & Sunday, May 1-2, 2004.

The President of the Society, Dr. Paul R. Lambert and his program committee selected 30 abstracts, from the 39 abstracts submitted, to be presented at the Scientific Sessions. Dr. Norman N. Ge will receive the ANS Trainee Award. The William House Lecture will be presented by Dr. John W. House.

President's Reception

The President's Reception will be held on Saturday evening from 6:30—8:00 p.m. When you register for COSM, register for the Reception and your complimentary tickets will be included in your packet.

If you have not registered for 2004 COSM, please do so as soon as possible.

Enclosed with this newsletter is the ANS Spring Meeting Program book. Please bring this with you to Phoenix, as there will only be a limited number of books available at the meeting.

COSM 2004

The Triological Society will be holding Otology Sessions on Monday, May 3, at the J.W.

Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa in Phoenix. Plan to attend these sessions.

New Members

Eighteen new members will be inducted into the American Neurotology Society on Saturday, May 1, at the ANS Annual Business Meeting. Four Fellows: Drs. Nikolas H. Blevins, Michael A. Marsh, Robert C. O'Reilly, Miriam I. Redleaf. Fourteen Associates: Seilesh C. Babu, Alex S. Battaglia, John P. Carey, David Foyt, Todd A. Hillman, Benjamin M. McGrew, Brian A. Neff, John S. Oghalai, Vincent B. Ostrowski, Randall W. Porter, Mitchell J. Ramsey, Mark A. Severtson, Elizabeth H. E. Toh, B. Joseph Touma.

ANS Membership Dues

Membership dues are mailed to the members in December of the current year for the following year's dues. Upon receipt of your invoice, dues are payable within 30 days. If you are a Fellow or an Associate member, subscription to the Otology & Neurotology Journal is mandatory. The ANS dues and O&N are listed separately on the dues statement. The ANS dues are 195.00. The journal is 92.00 for US members and 102.00 for foreign members unless you receive the journal through EANO. The total amount due the ANS is \$287 or \$297, whichever applies. (See Note) Please remember to include both the dues and journal in your payment to save the Society extra postage costs due to having to mail out an additional statement for dues and/or journal.

Note: if you are an Active member in the American Otological Society, you do not pay for your journal through ANS. If you are an Associate member or any other category of membership in AOS, you are

required to pay for your journal through ANS.

If you fail to inform the ANS office you are a Senior Fellow or a Senior Associate member, you will continue to be listed as a dues paying member and expected to pay your dues and journal. Senior Fellows & Senior Associate members currently receiving the O&N who have not notified the ANS office to remove their name from the O&N subscription list, will be expected to pay for the journal. The Society is billed for the subscriptions from Lippincott, Wilkins & Williams.

Recently, the ANS had a review of their financial statements. At that time, it was found that several members had not paid for their 2003 dues and/or journal. If you received a letter requesting payment of your 2003 dues, please remit payment promptly. The letter stated the amount owed for dues and/or journal. If you feel the letter was in error and you had paid your 2003 dues, we need a copy of your check (front & back).

If you have paid your 2004 dues, do not send a copy of the canceled check as the ANS office has a copy of your 2004 dues/journal check in our files.

COSM 2005

Did you know the American Neurotology Society will be celebrating their 40th Anniversary at COSM 2005?

The COSM 2005 meeting will be held at Boca Raton Resort & Club, Boca Raton, Florida, May 14-15. Mark your calendar now to be present for the 40th Anniversary of the ANS. The May 14-15 weekend is the third Sunday in May 2005 and does not conflict with Mother's Day.

ANS Website

The ANS website continues to be under construction. The goal is to have the website up and running by summer. We welcome any suggestions as to how to improve the website for the use of the

members. Send to Shirley Gossard, segossard@aol.com, and suggestions will be passed on to the Executive Council and the Webmaster.

Abstract Deadline

Abstract deadline: October 15, 2004

Abstracts are to be submitted online www.AmericanNeurotologySociety.

E-mail: segossard@aol.com

ANS Membership Application

Membership application deadline is November 15. The application packet with instructions is available on the ANS website.

The completed application and

\$50.00 fee must be in the ANS Administrative office by November

Change of Address

Please notify the ANS Administrative Office of any change in mailing address or e-mail address.

ANS Administrative Office Shirley Gossard, Administrator 2720 Tartan Way Springfield, IL 62707

Cell Ph: 217-414-4868 Email: segossard@aol.com

Ph/Fax: 217-483-6966

2004 Fall Meeting, New York, NY Cosponsored AAO-HNSF/ANS Hands-on Hearing and Balance Workshops

The cosponsored workshops will take place on Saturday, September 18, 2004, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, New York, NY, immediately preceding the AAO-HNSF Annual Meeting and OTO EXPO.

Hands-on Audiometrics for the Practitioner: What the Otolaryngologist Needs to Know! (8 am to 1 pm) Speakers: Margaret Kenna, MD, James W. Hall III, PhD, and Marilyn Neault, PhD.

Hands-on Evaluation of the Dizzy Patient: What You need to Know! (8:00 am to 12:30 pm)
Speakers: Joel A. Goebel, MD, Kamran Barin, PhD, Gerard J. Gianoli, MD and Neil T. Shepard, PhD.

Hands-on Hearing Aids: What the Otolaryngologist Needs to Know! (8:00 am to 12:00 pm) Speakers: J. Douglas Green, MD, David Hawkins, PhD, John Lionbarager, AuD, Brad Volkmer,

MBA and Karl Horn, MD

ANS Fall Scientific Sessions will take place on Saturday afternoon September 18, 2004, New York, NY, 1:00 pm to 5:00 pm. 2003-2004 Executive Council

President Paul R. Lambert, MD

President-Elect Robert K. Jackler, MD

Secretary-Treasurer Debara L. Tucci, MD

Immediate Past President Newton J. Coker, MD

Members at Large: Hilary Brodie, MD Joel A. Goebel, MD Joseph G. Feghali, MD